Under Virginia law, "Hit and Run" occurs when one leaves the scene of an accident with failure to provide certain information. Doing so can be considered a felony or a misdemeanor and could result in fines, costs, restitution, jail time, and/or license suspension. If you are under investigation, it is best to seek counsel before contacting law enforcement or any individuals involved.
Virginia law requires an affirmative duty to act for both drivers and passengers involved in an accident. There are some exceptions, the most common of which is if due to injury, you must seek medical attention. In that case you are to notify the other person and/or law enforcement of information "as soon as reasonably possible". The information required is:
- Your name
- Driver License Number
- Insurance Information
- Vehicle Registration Number
If you hit unattended property (for example, a parked car) you are required to make a "reaosnable effort" to find the owner of the property and report this information. If the owner cannot be found, then must leave a note with the above information as well as contact law enforcement within 24 hours of the accident.
The criminal implications are as follows:
For ATTENDED property (i.e. someone in a car) it is a CLASS 5 FELONY for damage of more than $1,000 or injory or death is involved
For ATTENDED property it is a CLASS 1 MISDEMEANOR for damage less than $1,000
For UNATTENDED property it is a CLASS 1 MISDEMEANOR for damage more than $250
For UNATTENDED property it is a CLASS 4 MISDEMEANOR for damage $250, or less.
If you have questions or are being investigated for an accident, you may wish to consult with an attorney.
Post a comment
Post a Comment to "Virginia's Hit and Run Laws"To reply to this message, enter your reply in the box labeled "Message", hit "Post Message."